Close An Existing Approval
When the necessary approval has been received for a document or link (for some processes, this may mean all have approved; for others, it may mean that one of the approvers has approved), the open approval should be closed by an Administrator or Manager so that it no longer shows on the active list of approvals. By closing the approval, you are marking the approval request complete (whether or not all approvers have responded).
NOTE: If all approvers have responded, you can also use the "Close approval" link next to the "All approvers have responded" indicator on the row for a document.
To close an active approval, select the checkbox next to one or more approvals in the
APPROVALS dashboard (or in the
Approvals report) and then click on the
Close Approval button at the top.
Once an approval has been closed,
Approval closed will show next to the item in Documents. The approval will be removed from the active approvals list and will now be listed under closed approvals in the dashboard/report (accessed via the
To reopen a previously closed approval, from the folder list in Documents, click the name of the item. Above the
Details section of the document's details tray, click the
Edit Approval button.
On the next page, click the drop down menu next to
Approval State, and change the value from
Save Changes button.
Also, if enabled, a document attached to a project (or one of its tasks) when that project's state is changed to "Closed" will automatically also close that document's approval. To enable this setting, go to the settings icon (gear) in the top right when viewing All Workspaces, and select
Other Settings under the
PROJECTS label on the left side. Check the box labeled "Automatically close all open approvals linked to this project when project state is changed to Completed."
NOTE: The "Automatically close..." setting mentioned above is enabled by default.